GO TOP

Education

Schedule

Tohoku University Graduate School of Life Sciences
Schedule 2021-2022

Please note that the schedule may be changed due to the influence of the spread of the new coronavirus infection.

Course Schedule related

1st semester
Entrance ceremony Apr. 2 (Fri)  → Postponed
Orientation for new students, etc. Apr. 8 (Thu)
Classes Apr. 12 (Mon) - Aug.10 (Tue)
Summer holiday Aug. 11 (Wed) - Sep. 30 (Thu)
Commencement Ceremony Sep. 24 (Fri)
 
2nd semester
Classes Oct. 1 (Fri) - Feb. 3 (Thu)
Winter holiday Dec. 29(Wed) - Jan. 4 (Tue)
End of term holiday Feb. 4 (Fri) - Mar. 31 (Thu)
Commencement Ceremony Mar. 25 (Fri)

Entrance examination

Master’s Degree Program entrance exam
 (October 2021 Admissions)
Aug. 3 (Tue)
Doctoral Degree Program entrance exam
 (October 2021 Admissions)
Jul. 5 (Mon)
Master's Degree Program entrance exam
[self recommendation] (April 2022 Admissions)
Jul. 3 (Sat) - Jul. 4 (Sun)
Master's Degree Program (first term)
entrance examination (April 2022 Admissions)
Aug. 3 (Tue)
Master's Degree Program (second term)
entrance examination (April 2022 Admissions)
Nov. 8 (Mon) - Nov. 9 (Tue)
Doctoral Degree Program transfer
entrance examination (April 2022 Admissions)
Feb. 15 (Tue)

Master's dissertation

Expected completion in September
Deadline for the title of master's dissertation May. 28 (Fri)
Deadline for the master's dissertation Jul. 20 (Tue)
Review of the master's dissertation
Jul. 20 (Tue) - Jul. 28 (Wed)
Final examinations of the master's dissertation Jul. 29 (Thu) - Aug. 4 (Wed)
Deadline for the master's dissertation
(for graduate school storage)
Aug. 30 (Mon)
 
Expected completion in March
Deadline for the title of master's dissertation Nov. 29 (Mon)
Deadline for master's dissertation summaries
for final examinations (presentation)
Jan. 5 (Wed)
Deadline for the master's dissertation Jan. 11 (Tue)
Review of the master's dissertation Jan. 11 (Tue) - Jan. 28 (Fri)
Final examinations of the master's dissertation Feb. 1 (Tue) - Feb. 9 (Wed)
Deadline for the master's dissertation
(for graduate school storage)
Mar. 1 (Tue)

Doctoral dissertation

Expected completion in September
Deadline for the title of doctoral dissertation
May. 28 (Fri)
Deadline for the doctoral dissertation Jul. 20 (Tue)
Review of the doctoral dissertation Jul. 20 (Tue) - Jul. 28 (Wed)
Final examinations of the doctoral dissertation
Jul. 29 (Thu) - Aug. 4 (Wed)
Deadline for the doctoral dissertation(for publication)
After the faculty meeting in September
 
Expected completion in March
Deadline for the title of doctoral dissertation Nov. 29 (Mon)
Deadline for the doctoral dissertation Jan. 5 (Wed)
Deadline for doctoral dissertation summaries for final examinations (presentation) Jan. 5 (Wed)
Review of the doctoral dissertation Jan. 5 (Wed) - Jan. 20 (Thu)
Final examinations of the doctoral dissertation Jan. 21 (Fri) - Jan. 31 (Mon)
Deadline for the doctoral dissertation
(for publication )
Mar. 16 (Wed)

Advancing to the Doctoral Degree Program

Period for submission to apply for advancing  Jan. 4 (Tue) - Jan. 11 (Tue)

Notes

  1. The above schedule may be changed, so please be careful of news and notices.
  2. This schedule does not include dates for students who complete the course at other time (not in March or September). Please consult dates with your academic advisor.